History Kinsella January 2014: Home

Click here to access the OWL's (Online Writing Lab at Purdue) Sample Paper in MLA Format.

Click here to access a sample paper that uses MLA Format.

Using iCONN: Connecticut's Research Engine:

NOTE: if using iCONN from home, you will need to type in your public library card number OR click on the "Try this" button. Click here to view a short PowerPoint that shows how to access iCONN when you are not using a Rumsey computer. If using iCONN from a Rumsey computer, you should not be prompted for a barcode. 

 http://www.iconn.org 
iCONN: Connecticut's Re*search Engine; in the left-hand column from iCONN's home page, choose "Select Individual Resources." You will get to a page with 3 columns of databases. Click on HISTORY REFERENCE CENTER. 

Then click on U.S. History link (image flag/eagle) > click WWI (1914 - 1919) or the link below that one because you can choose topics up to the Roaring 20s for this assignment. FIND a topic that interests you. Come up with some focus questions about your topic.

Try This is also an iconn database. It contains electronic BOOKS. Click on advanced search link. Type in good search terms for your topic.

EXPLORE other databases within iconn.org, for example, Middle Search Plus, Student Research Center, OneSearch, or if you have a biographical topic, search Biography Reference Center or Biography Reference Bank.

Or SEARCH  
Make sure you know the username and password.
Search in "American History Online,"  "American Women's History Online," "World Almanac for Kids," or "Science Online," if appropriate.

LINK TO FIND PRINT (ACTUAL BOOK) SOURCES:

 Destiny Quest (online catalog of Rumsey's library BOOKS)

Try a search for your topic in Destiny Quest. 

• Briefly discuss what a LibGuide is and The Big 6.
• QUICK search in iCONN's "History Reference Center" database and a Facts on File database. If you get into EasyBib SE quickly, you can start searching
• RECONNECT with or create a new account (only if you don't have one already) EasyBib School Edition account.
• Make sure you know the coupon code.
• Create a project in your account
• Share with skinsella@rumseyhall.org; make sure you choose correct folder.

Homework:

1. Find a topic from World War I or the 1920's using databases. Come up with three focus questions about your topic. Hand in topic and three focus questions.

• Click on EasyBib tab and log in to your account. 
• Advanced searching:  iconn.org > Select Individual Sources > Middle School then click on database that looks like the following: Click on advanced search link; use good keywords. I'll use World War I and medicine. Find a good article.
• Create a citation in your EasyBib project for your article.

Homework: Find and print at least one good article that speaks to at least one of your focus questions. Try to create a citation for that article in your EasyBib SE project.

• Demonstrate how to create a citation for a Facts on File article.
• Demonstrate how to create a note card in EasyBib SE.
• Research. Create citations FIRST. Print articles. Actively read articles then use EasyBib to create electronic note cards. Make sure note cards are connected to source!

Homework: Actively read one article--highlight and write notes on article. Create at least two note cards for this article. Each note card must be connected to its source/citation.