IVth Form Volcano Research: Home

Day 4

• Pay attention to all reminders in Day 3.
• When done with your Pic Collage, hit "Save to Library" > Find the photo in your iPad's library > hit the send to icon > choose Photostream > Save into Form IV Science

Day 3
Reminders!

1. Use this LibGuide
2. Include the cool stuff (pictures and information)
3. CITE ALL pictures and information using MLA in-text citations.
4. When all citations are in your bibliography, one person can print it from a computer.
5. Names on all Pic Collages!
6. SAVE Pic Collage(s) to Form IV Science in Photo Stream

   If time ONE person from each class period can create a cover page for the entire class' book.

Day 2

Classwork:

*Make sure we know the iPad # of each team. Use same iPad each day.

1. Databases--fear not!! Mrs. D. demos how to do a search in iCONN's "Science Reference Center" for Krakatau. (She already pasted the citation into her EasyBib project, made comments, including putting in the Permalink to the article.)
2. Quick demo of how to use Pic Collage.
3. Individual work in your teams. Collect all information and pictures FIRST. Then put all of your great stuff into Pic Collage. Information and pictures MUST be cited.

Homework: Find, print, and cite (in EasyBib) at least one article from a DATABASE on the LibGuide. Only annotate the section/part/paragraph (really short phrases) that you will include in your Pic Collage.  Make sure you created your citation in EasyBib for the picture you found over the weekend. Use the comment feature found under the citation so your teammate will know why you chose the photo and the article.

Day 1
Classwork:

1. Introduce project: The Totally Awesome Book of Useful Information about Volcanoes
2. Reconnect with your EasyBib SE account.
3. ONE person in your group will create the project and SHARE with group member(s) AND with kmandl@rumseyhall.org
4. Quick review of searching in databases; make sure you write down usernames/passwords

Homework: FIND one article (in database or approved website) about your volcano. PRINT article with citation; READ and ANNOTATE article.

DATABASE LINKS:

http://www.iconn.org 
iCONN: Connecticut's Re*search Engine; in the left-hand column from iCONN's home page, choose "Select Individual Resources." You will get to a page with several columns of databases.

NOTE: if using iCONN from home, you will need to type in your public library card number OR click on the "Try this" button. Click here to view a short PowerPoint that shows how to access iCONN when you are not using a Rumsey computer. If using iCONN from Rumsey, you should not be prompted for a barcode.

 
When clicking on the World Book link above, you will be able to access three different reading levels of World Book. You will need to put in the log-in ID and password (same as for the rest of Rumsey's databases that we subscribe to).

Facts on File
After clicking on the above link, choose the Facts on File SCIENCE ONLINE link, then try a search for volcano. Make sure you know the username and password to access this database.

LINK TO FIND PRINT (ACTUAL BOOK) SOURCES:

Destiny Quest (online catalog of Rumsey's library BOOKS)
Try a search for your topic in Destiny Quest, but we've already pulled the books and put them aside for you.

IF YOU ARE GOING TO USE A SEARCH ENGINE (GoogleScholar, dogpile, altavista, etc.) to find links on the World Wide Web, you must evaluate your sources. In other words, you must make sure that the information on any sites you find is correct, unbiased, up-to-date, etc.

A cool volcano website that includes recent pictures: http://www.volcanodiscovery.com/photos/erta-ale-dallol/nov10.html 

• Mt. Erebus, Antartica
• Kilauea, Hawaii
• Mt. St. Helen's, USA (1980)
• Laki Volcano, Iceland (1783)
• Mt. Vesuvius, Italy (79 CE)
• Mt. Etna, Italy
• Mt. Merapi, Indonesia (active)
• Krakatau, Indonesia (1883)

Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program

National Geographic page about Volcanoes

Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History

Click here to access a cool volcano website that includes recent pictures. 
Be careful though because if/when you use the search box on this site, it may take you to another site on the web. You will need to evaluate any sites you access on the web to make sure they are legitimate. You don't want to include photoshopped pictures in your Pic Collagel!!